Massachusetts Veterans Jobs

MassHire JobQuest Logo

Job Information

Pathlight Group Shared Living Caregiver in Great Barrington, Massachusetts

A LITTLE ABOUT PATHLIGHT GROUP Pathlight partners with people with disabilities to create opportunities and build relationships throughout their lives. We want to live in a world where people with intellectual disabilities, developmental disabilities, and autism are recognized for their full human potential; where they are empowered to build an engaged and connected life, made up of the people and activities that they choose and that are meaningful to them. We achieve this vision through a shared commitment to a well-trained and supported workforce and by focusing on the wishes and dreams of the people we serve. WHAT IT\'S LIKE TO BE A SHARED LIVING CAREGIVER AT PATHLIGHT At Pathlight, we offer a unique opportunity for individuals to make a lasting impact as a Shared Living Caregiver. By welcoming individuals with developmental disabilities into your home, you not only receive a tax-free stipend as a contracted shared living provider, but also the satisfaction of knowing you\'re changing lives for the better. Our Shared Living model creates a win-win scenario, where both the Caregiver and the individual can experience the joys of family and community life. With placements lasting over 40 years, we prioritize compatibility and ensure that every match is a perfect fit. ABOUT THE INDIVIDUAL NEEDING A SHARED LIVING SUPPORT:For the sake of anonymity, we\'ll call the woman who is currently looking for a new home \"A.\" What kind of household would be a good fit for her? Check out the Q&A section below to find out: WHERE IS \"A\" LOOKING TO LIVE? \"A\" is thriving in her current day program and really loves her community. For that reason, she would like to stay in Southern Berkshire County. OUR SPARE BEDROOM IS ON THE 2ND Floor. WILL THAT BE AN ISSUE? \"A\" does not have any physical limitations, so it will not matter if her bedroom is on the 1ST or 2nd floor. I HAVE CHILDREN. WOULD MY HOUSE BE A MATCH FOR \"A\"? At this time, \"A\" would prefer to live in a house without children. Teenagers are fine though. WHAT ABOUT PETS? \"A\" loves small to medium sized dogs! She isn\'t a fan of cats though. Have another type of animal? Just let us know. CAN I WORK WHILE BEING A CAREGIVER? Yes, we have Caregivers that have full or part-time jobs. \"A\" attends a community-based day program 5 days a week and has support hours in the evening where someone comes to either work with her in the home or take her out into the community, so it is not necessary for her Caregiver to be home all the time. However, \"A\" does have a lot of energy so while one Caregiver could definitely be a match, ideal situations would probably be a two-adult household. DO I NEED TO HELP WITH TRANSPORTATION? All Caregivers should be willing and able to help with transportation needs when necessary. However, \"A\"\'s\" Day Program provides transportation. DOES \"A\" NEED SUPPORT WITH PERSONAL CARE? \"A\" doesn\'t require physical support with personal care; however, Caregivers will need to give reminders and prompts for activities of daily living (for example brushing teeth, washing hands, etc.) CAN YOU TELL ME ABOUT HER PERSONALITY/WHAT DOES SHE LIKE TO DO FOR FUN? \"A\" is an incredibly caring individual who is very engaging! She is a vibrant young woman who loves to be busy and involved in the community. Exercise is an important part of her life. She enjoys attending local plays/shows, anything outdoors, doing puzzles and coloring, local community events, spending time with people she lives with and her family. For full desrcription and to apply click here!{target="blank" rel="noreferrer"}

DirectEmployers